## SAML MEETING 2022 AGENDA

# University of Georgia Marine Institute, Sapelo Island, Georgia May 1-3, 2022

SAML Board and Audit Committee Meetings (virtually, prior to meeting)

#### **Sunday, May 1, 2022**

## 5:00 PM Opening Remarks & Welcome Reception

- Merryl Alber, Director, UGAMI
- Welcome Reception (heavy hors d'oeuvres) at the Sapelo Island Visitor's Center
- All need to stay on the mainland for Sunday.

## Monday, May 2, 2022

- UGAMI Atlas Building
  - Arrive at the ferry by 08:00 AM socializing possible on the ferry ride over.
- Masks are required while inside the ferry and on the bus from the ferry to Atlas Building.
- Ferry departs at 8:30 AM and costs \$5 cash round trip. Ferry Dock (Sapelo Island Visitor's Center ~ 22 miles/25 minutes from hotel).

#### 09:30 AM Coffee & Snacks - Eat hot breakfast at hotel

#### 09:45 AM Welcome & Instructions

SAML President Sue Ebanks

## 10:00 AM **Overview of Host Laboratory**

Merryl Alber / Jacob Shalack (30-45 min)

## 10:30 AM **SAML Laboratory Updates**

• with Prompt on Inclusive issue (3 minutes per lab, Ebanks to instruct on timing. This will be a lead in for Tuesday)

#### 12:00 PM Lunch (catered)

- Lunch and Learn style with NAML Public Policy Update
- Meg Thompson, Federal Science Partners

#### 01:15 PM NAML Updates

Lou Burnett, NAML Executive Director

## 01:45 PM SAML Business Meeting

- A. Old Business Approval of Minutes
- B. New Business
  - Bylaws Revisions Sue Ebanks
  - Nominating Committee (information/guidance on self-nominations & virtual elections) - Dave Eggleston, Past President and Chair of Nominating Committee
  - o Education Committee Brief Aly Busse
  - Treasurer Report and 2022 Budget Overview
  - Student Awards Sue Ebanks
  - Future Meetings Open Discussion
- C. Other Business
  - Growing Membership

### 02:45 PM Tour of University of Georgia Marine Institute at Sapelo Island Campus

#### End of Day Dinner

- Mainlanders-OYO on the mainland. Last ferry to the mainland leaves at 4:30 PM.
  Consider Skipper's Fish Camp, 85 Screven Street Darien, GA 31305.
- Island folks-dinner on the island, special guests of Merryl

#### Tuesday, May 3, 2022

- UGAMI Atlas Building
  - Mainlanders Eat hot breakfast at hotel. Arrive for ferry by 08:00 AM socializing possible on the ferry ride over.
- Masks are required while inside the ferry and on the bus from the ferry to Atlas Building.
- Ferry departs at 8:30 AM and costs \$5 cash round trip. Ferry Dock (Sapelo Island Visitor's Center ~ 22 miles/25 minutes from hotel)

#### 09:30 AM Coffee & Snacks

Mainlanders and Island folks can informally share their adventures.

#### 10:00 AM Roundtable- Field Safety & Inclusion

- How are we welcoming and supporting all involved in studies of marine laboratories?
- Led by Merryl Alber

#### 11:00 AM **BREAK**

#### 11:15 AM Where will we go from here?

• What is your number one action item as it relates to taking your level of welcome and support to the next level for your marine lab's culture? (All)

## 11:30 AM Closing Remarks

SAML President Sue Ebanks

#### 12:00 PM ADJOURN

- In-person participants are welcome to spend the remaining time enjoying the island before the ferry departs.
- Ferry departs at 2:30 PM and 4:30 PM.
- Box lunches will be provided, but we need a headcount. Let's be prudent with the resource.
- Host needs to be notified if you have time constraints for Tuesday (e.g., do you need to catch a plane, making regular ferry impossible for you?). UGAMI can provide a special ferry to the mainland with one of their field vessels, weather permitting and with limited seating.
- Regular Ferry departs at 2:30 PM and 4:30 PM.

## **Committees of SAML**

#### **Board of Directors**

Sue Ebanks, President 2022-2023 Vacancy, President-Elect 2022-2023 Dave Eggleston, Past President 2022-2023 Eric Milbrandt, Treasurer 2022 Jayne Gardiner, Secretary 2022

#### Board of Directors Members-at-Large

Jim Gelsleichter, 2020-2022 Vacancy, 2021-2023 Antonietta Quigg, 2022-2024

## **Standing Committees**

## **Nominating Committee 2022**

Dave Eggleston (as Past President) Micheal Allen John Valentine

#### **Finance Committee 2022**

Eric Milbrandt, Chair (as Treasurer) Sue Ebanks, President Vacancy, President-Elect Jim Gelsleichter, longest-serving Member-at-Large

## **Audit Committee 2022**

Fred Dobbs, Chair Micheal Allen Scott Knoche

## Ad Hoc Bylaws Committee

Sue Ebanks, Chair Lou Burnett Jim Gelsleichter Jim Sanders